Engaging reads for children, from Books go Walkabout

Tag: school libray association

SLA UK School Librarian of the Year Award 2016


Amy wins!

‘The SLA School Librarian of the Year Award is the School Library Association’s prestigious honour to recognize the excellent work that is carried out in school libraries every day, highlighting the best practice of those whose work is outstanding.

This year Amy McKay at Corby Business Academy (www.corbybusinessacademy.org) has been awarded the honour of the School Librarian of the Year 2016′.

We were delighted to attend the award ceremony at The Judges Court, St. Martins Lane, Covent Garden, London on the 3rd October, 2016.

Award winning author Kim Slater was on hand to present Amy with her prize. The range of library activities, reader support and wider engagement with the library and literacy sector that Amy has achieved in her career so far made her a very deserving winner in 2016.

You can read more about Amy’s work at the Corby Business Academy here.

Books go Walkabout chanted in unison ‘…well done and congratulations Amy!’

Nomination forms for School Librarian of the Year 2017 will be available from the SLA website, at http://www.sla.org.uk/nominations.php

Previous Winners of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Award
2015: Annie Brady – St Paul’s CBS Secondary School, Dublin, Republic of Ireland
2014: Liz Millett – Weatherfield Academy, Dunstable
2013: Hilary Cantwell – St Paul’s Community College, Waterford, Republic of Ireland
2013: John Iona – Oasis Academy, Enfield, Middlesex
2012: Adam Lancaster – Monk’s Walk School, Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
2011: Carol Webb – Forest Hill School, London
2010: Duncan Wright – Stewart’s Melville College, Edinburgh
2010: Kevin Sheehan – Offerton School, Stockport
2009: Lucy Bakewell – Hill West Primary School, Sutton Coldfield
2008: Nikki Heath – Werneth School, Stockport
2007: Ingrid Hopson – George Abbot School, Guildford
2006: Anne-Marie Tarter – Ripon Grammar School, North Yorkshire
2005: Anne Robinson – Nicholas Chamberlaine Technology College, Bedworth

slalogobuttonThe SLA School Librarian of the Year 2016 is sponsored by Macmillan Children’s Books
(www.panmacmillan.com) and Softlink (www.softlink.co.uk).



The National Archives for School Resources



I wondered why I had decided to to travel to Kew to spend an afternoon at The National Archives.

Not normally for me to be interested in row upon row of carefully sealed shelves and files containing invaluable documents and manuscripts.

The London branch of The School Library Association had planned the day and it was fantastic!

One hundred and ten miles of carefully sealed shelves, only ever to be touched by the white gloves….we looked at maps of the 1600’s and the invasion of Caribbean islands, beautifully painted in water colour.

In the Education Room we studied a document which, after a Dan Brown type of investigation turned out to be a police report about two suffragettes burning a hotel in Felixstowe.

Lots of resources and an incredible website, where material can be downloaded(good plan to mention The National Archives) and can be a real bonus for research and for collecting more information. Excellent for schools and for anyone ready to learn.

Sue Martin

Dolphin Booksellers the best in children’s books always on line

School Librarian of the Year Award 2010

Two people have been awarded the honour of SLA School Librarian of the Year.

At the celebration on 4th October in London, M.G. Harris , author of  The Joshua Files presented the awards to;

Kevin Sheehan from Offerton School in Stockport and Duncan Wright from Stewart’s Melville College in Edinburgh.

Ginette Doyle, Chair of the Selection committee and Chair of the School Library Association said: “Kevin and Duncan come from two completely different schools. Kevin’s school has a higher than average learning support register and more pupils eligible for free school meals than normal. He makes his library fun; he goes beyond the book to entice pupils in and demands that they respect the space so that it has become highly valued.

Duncan’s school is more academic and he has ensured that the information literacy ladder he helped to devise is at the heart of lessons, but he too, makes the Library a fun place to be and engages disaffected readers with his enthusiasm for other things than just the Library. Two exceptional librarians, working in different ways to bring their libraries into the heart of the school and learning, we could not decide between them. They are not joint winners, but each deserves the accolade of SLA School Librarian of the Year.

The SLA School Librarian of the Year Award celebrates the essential work that school librarians are doing at a time when school libraries are being closed at an alarming rate.

We were impressed by the passion and dedication of the librarians we visited and the innovative and inspirational ways in which they bring books and an enthusiasm for learning into the heart of the school and into the lives of children. We had a hard job selecting a short list and feel that everyone on the Honour list should be celebrated.”

The Honour List:
Sue Bastone – Licensed Victuallers’ School, Ascot
Rebecca Jones – Malvern St James, Worcestershire
Shiona Lawson – Rothesay Academy, Isle of Bute
Denise Reed – Hurst Prep School, Hurstpierpoint, Sussex

You can find profiles of the six librarians are on the School Library Association website.

Dolphin Booksellers were pleased to support SLA both in their work and by attending the event.

Sue Martin

School Librarian of the Year 2009

libEnthusiastic, creative and talented are just what is needed to become School Librarian of 2009. Some of the best ways to encourage children with reading and books– being interested and enthusiastic, finding ways to be creative with books and of course having the talent to know what is going to appeal.

The School Library Association will be holding the Award Winning Ceremony on Monday 5th October at London Zoo. Not certain why London Zoo, Anthony Browne’s books come to mind?

In the Autumn edition of School Librarian magazine there’s a really interesting article; Theresa Breslin, former librarian and author of Whispers in the Graveyard, amongst other books, talks with her niece, Frances, a Children’s Librarian for Fife Council with an office base inside the very first Carnegie library.

There are four librarians on the Honours List, from very different schools and colleges,with lots of skills and talent for making their libraries appealing places.

The Honours List for 2009 is:
Lucy Bakewell Hill West Primary School, Birmingham
Barbara Band Emmbrook School, Wokingham
Barbara Band Sponne Community Technology College in Towcester
Joy Wassell – Timms Parrs Wood High School in Didsbury

slAKeep looking here at School Library Association and at Dolphin Booksellers to find out who has become School Librarian 2009.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén