Engaging reads for children, from Books go Walkabout

Month: November 2022

Whose Tracks In The Snow? By Alexandra Milton

Author &Illustrator of Who is in the Egg?…

A great natural history picture book introducing children to animal tracks.

In the huge big field, there are tracks in the snow. Who left the tracks in the huge, big field? A fast-running hare, speeding back to his home. Or is it hares or  ducks, foxes or deer?

An informative and special picture book by Alexandra Milton. Studying Art and English in Paris before moving to England and working as a primary school teacher, Alexandra is now a full time illustrator and successful author. The illustrations are captivating and perfectly represent fields and countryside in the snow. On each page there is a clue in the corner guiding you to the possible animal.

A great resource for discovery and a charming book for all interested in nature.

Published by Boxer Books on 3rd November 2022, Whose Tracks in the Snow joins a wonderfully enchanting portfolio of children’s books.

A perfect book to buy at Christmas or any time through the winter.

Sue Martin Children’s Literacy Specialist

Stories Across the World…

Mike Falls Up by Candy Gourlay & illustrated by Carles Ballesteros

Topsy turvy adventures…

Part of the Colour Fiction series from Little Tiger Press, an engaging series of short stories for new readers emerging into chapter books. The books are wonderful, they are beautifully bound with high quality paper and they fit into small hands. Each page has engaging illustrations from well known illustrators with clear and bold text.

I love this new series from Little Tiger Press, they make perfect books for young children at the first stages of independent reading at schools and at home.

This blog is the first of four in this series.

Mike and his dog Bowow are relaxing in the Chocolate Hills when the ground starts to tremble and the next moment a gaping hole appears. Before Mike can stop him, Bowow jumps into the hole. Then a note floats up…

Party.
Come now.
Just fall up.

‘Get some fresh air’, Mum cried…

There’s no time to wonder what it means – Mike jumps in and falls into the most topsy-turvy of adventures. A joyous story celebrating the power of unexpected friendships by award-winning author Candy Gourlay, beautifully brought to life with stunning illustrations by Carles Ballesteros.

Sue Martin – Children’s Literacy Specialist

Midnight Magic by Michelle Harrison & illustrated by Elissa Elwick

Midnight and Trixie are very best friends…

Black cats born at midnight
Are different indeed
A mischievous, odd
And peculiar breed

A bewitching new series from the best-selling author of A PINCH OF MAGIC, Michelle Harrison. Told in rhyming verse and illustrated in colour throughout by Elissa Elwick. This is perfect for readers of SQUISHY MCFLUFF, HUBBLE BUBBLE and GOBBOLINO.

In the middle of winter, three kittens are born in a barn. Two are ordinary, but the third, jet black and born on the stroke of midnight, is brimming with magic from whiskers to tail – even sparking life into a dusty old broomstick! While her siblings pounce at rats, Midnight perfects her flying skills on the broom, not noticing how her mother disapproves of her magical ways…

When Midnight finds herself abandoned, the little black kitten sets out to find a new home with only her loyal broom Twiggy at her side. The pair soon befriend a kind-hearted girl called Trixie. But how will Trixie’s family react to Midnight’s extraordinary powers and taste for mischief?

Stunning new series of early chapter books from Little Tiger Press, beautifully bound and on top quality paper, with full illustrations on every page. A great way to encourage new readers into books.

Sue Martin – Children’s Literacy Specialist

The Hat Full of Secrets by Karl Newson & Illustrated by Wazza Pink

Part of the Colour Fiction Series from Little Tiger Press…

Henry’s got a secret … a big one! And he doesn’t know what to do with it. Grandpa suggests he should keep it under his hat ­– and he’s got just the hat for the job. But when Henry puts it on he discovers that Grandpa has some secrets of his own!

A lyrical and heart-warming story celebrating the magical bond between a child and a grandparent, with full colour illustrations on every page.

Karl Newson is an inspiring author, as in the first words of the book...’ Henry Pepper didn’t ask for it. He didn’t wish it. He didn’t even dream it up. But there was a secret’…

Illustrator is Wazza Pink , interesting article from Vietcetera. Her images are captivating and create an atmosphere which does so much more than just fit with the text.

 Part of the Colour Fiction series from Little Tiger Press, an engaging series of short stories for new readers emerging into chapter books. The books are wonderful, they are beautifully bound with high quality paper and they fit into small hands. Each page has engaging illustrations from well known illustrators with clear and bold text.

I love this new series from Little Tiger Press, they make perfect books for young children at the first stages of independent reading at schools and at home.

Sue Martin – Children’s Literacy Specialist

The Bear Stylist by Steven Butler & illustrated by Jacob Souva

Part of the Colour Fiction Series from Little Tiger Press

Ludo comes from a long line of famous bear stylists. He loves giving his customers sensible haircuts, whether it’s a tidy trim or a perfect perm. Until Leonardo arrives in town. Soon Ludo’s clients are having their feathers flapped and their curls combed by him instead.

But only one bear can be named Bear Stylist Supreme…

A charming celebration of creativity and teamwork.

This is a delightful tale of the work of the best hair stylist on Crooked Mountain. Coming from a long line of Tubb’s family hair stylists, Ludo was in great demand, travelling between clients on his bicycle.  

Bear Stylist Supreme…

Steven Butler is the author, who also wrote the Diaries of Dennis the Menace and has a gift with words and unfolding characters.

 Part of the Colour Fiction series from Little Tiger Press, an engaging series of short stories for new readers emerging into chapter books. The books are wonderful, they are beautifully bound with high quality paper and it well into smaller hands. Each page has engaging illustrations from well known illustrators and the text is clear and bold.

I love this new series from Little Tiger Press, they make perfect books for young children wanting to read schools and at home.

Sue Martin – Children’s Literacy Specialist

The Story Collector Series written & illustrated by Jane Ray.

The perfect gift to make a child’s imagination soar!’ Shirley Hughes OBE

Stunning books in paperback gift design covers . Their eye catching design and illustrations are wonderful. They are compelling and intriguing, The stories know by many are brought to life  and will stay with you forever. Three books newly published by Boxer Books on 27th October 2022.

The Emperor’s Nightingale and Other Feathery Tales This is the first extraordinary volume of tales collected, retold and illustrated by Jane Ray, one of the world’s leading artists of stunning picture books. It includes many favourites such as The Happy Prince, The Owl and The Pussy Cat, and lesser known, but equally enjoyable stories such as Jorinda and Joringel.

Whale Song, Ballad of John Silver and many more…

The Little Mermaid and Other Fishy Tales

The  second magnificent volume of tales collected, retold and illustrated by Jane Ray. It includes something for everyone: The Fisherman and His Wife; Whalesong; The Lobster Quadrille, A Ballad of John Silver and many more.

The Lion and the Unicorn and Other Hairy Tales

The third volume in Jane Ray’s stunning story collection featuring The Lion and The Unicorn, Brer Wolf, The Singing Ringing Tree, Theseus and the Minotaur and many more. Beautifully illustrated and designed with stories that keep you turning the pages. A perfect gift.

Jane Ray has been illustrating and writing children’s books for 25 years and has a special interest in folk and fairy tales. As well as her wonderful picture books she has designed cards and book jackets plus fabrics for Liberty. In 2018, she was nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Award.

If you are looking for gifts for Christmas these books are perfect for young and older too.

If you are in education Jane has a myriad of activities and information will can be shared and enable the perfect back drop for enabling sharing of myths and legends or for creating your own stories.

Sue Martin Children’s Literacy Specialist

Books Go Walkabout
Stories across the world…

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén